The Ting-Ting

05 May

Aye….. The Ting-Ting,, dr namanya agak aneh gitu but just name guy’s.. Lagunya asyik, lucu, unique….

Mulai dari That’s not my name/Itu bkn namaku.hehe… ad Great DJ, Fruit machine, shut up and Let me Go,,n other.. Terdiri dari 2 personel, menjadikan band ini berbeda dg band” lainnya. Jules De Martino (drums, lead guitar, bass guitar, vocals, piano) dan Katie White (vocals, guitar, bass drums, bass guitar, and cow bells).

Performing at South by Southwest in 2008


Katie White started her music career in a girl group punk trio TKO – short for Technical Knock Out – with two friends from Lowton school, Marion Grethe Seaman and Emma Lally. The band had some success and supported Steps and Atomic Kitten.[4] In March 2001 songwriter Jules De Martino wrote four songs for TKO at Leeds University.[5] While De Martino was in Manchester a few months later, the pair bumped into each other and discovered they had a mutual love of Portishead. De Martino relocated to Manchester, based at the alternative musician-commune the Islington Mill in Salford.[6] The pair and a friend went on to form the Portishead-influenced trio Dear Eskiimo who were signed to Mercury Records. However, due to a change of directors and managers, the management style of the record label caused them to split.[7][8] The experience left White and De Martino with a distrust of the music industry.

Awards and nominations

Dengan talenta yg dimiliki band ini, telah banyak award diraihnya :

  • MTV Video Music Awards 2008
    • Video of the Year – “Shut Up and Let Me Go” – Nominated
    • Best UK Video – “Shut Up and Let Me Go” – Won
  • Vodafone Live Music Awards 2008
    • Xfm Live Breakthrough Act – Won
  • BT Digital Music Awards 2008
    • Best Pop Artist – Nominated
  • Q Awards 2008
    • Best New Act – Nominated
    • Best Track – “That’s Not My Name” – Nominated
    • Best Video – “That’s Not My Name” – Nominated
  • MTV Europe Music Awards 2008
    • Best UK Act – Nominated
  • UK Festival Awards 2008
    • Festival Pop Act – Won
    • Best Newcomer Awards – Won
    • Anthem of the Summer – Won
  • mtvU Woodie Awards 2008
    • Best Performing Awards – Nominated
  • Nickelodeon UK Kids Choice Awards 2008
    • MTV Hits Favourite Song – Nominated
  • Triple J Hottest 100, 2008
    • “Shut Up and Let Me Go” – position 78
    • “That’s Not My Name” – position 9
  • XFM New Music Awards 2008
    • Best Debut Album – We Started Nothing – Nominated
  • BRIT Awards 2009
    • Best British Breakthrough Act – Nominated
    • Mastercard Best British Album – We Started Nothing – Nominated
  • NME Awards 2009
    • Best Track – “That’s Not My Name” – Nominated
  • MTV Australia Awards 2009
    • Best Breakthrough Act – Nominated
  • Ivor Novello Awards 2009
    • Album Awards – We Started NothingWon
    • Best Contemporary Song – “That’s Not My Name” – Nominated
  • Border Breakers Awards
    • Best Album – We Started NothingWon
  • Glamour Women of the Year 2009
    • Newcomer of the Year – Nominated
    • UK Solo Artist of the Year – Nominated
  • Premios Oye! 2009
    • Main English Breakthrough of the Year – Nominated
  • Grammy Awards 2010
    • Best New Artist – Nominated
  • MP3 Music Awards 2009
    • The MIC Award (Music / Industry / Choice) – Nominated
  • IDMA 2009
    • Best Alternative/Rock Dance Track – Shut Up and Let Me Go – Nominated
    • Best Break-Through Artist (Group) – Won

Sumber :

Leave a comment

Posted by on May 5, 2011 in Artis


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: